Grupo Danza Folklorico: Let’s Dance El Sanjuanito in New York City!

247370_10150276334895649_1120595_n  folklore-wayna-wara_038

As some of you may know, I love to dance El Sanjuanito. Actually, I  love dancing the following genres: Merengue, Salsa, Mapale, Soca Chutney, Bollywood, Cumbia Mexicana, Cumbia Colombiana, and Quebradita. But my favorite is El Sanjuanito.

This is an Indigenous dance from Quechua communities in Southern Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Bolivia, and Northern Chile and we celebrate it during the Inti Raymi festival along with other solstice festivities.

My mother taught me El Sanjuanito when I was eight years old. When I went to middle school and high school, I danced alone in my bedroom. I put the music on the boombox and taught myself the steps, the swings, and the turns just like she taught me. I admired the colorful dresses and ponchos.

I love listening to the sound of panpipes, violins, guitars, and the drums that beat the rhythm of my heart and feet.

318155_2652559411623_1874873838_n550102_2652555131516_815633872_n

When I went to college, I made a commitment to get El Sanjuanito out there on campus. I formed a new group the first year and we performed on a few cultural  shows, which was  inspiring to the audience. Every year since, I formed new groups to perform more complicated steps on larger cultural shows.

This year, I want to form a new group and perform in New York City. I am looking for a total of 16 people who will be willing to commit to rehearsals at least twice a week (preferably on weekends) and perform on weekends in New York City and possibly, in New England and Washington D.C in Spring 2014. I am also looking for volunteers who can assist Christine Han, the Costume Designer, with any designing of the traditional clothing for the dance. If your university, club, or community is interested in helping us find space to rehearse and/or promote the event in your area, please e-mail me with the information.

27245_380695728799_7055403_nSAN-GIL2

Ideally, rehearsals will take place on December-March and we will start performing on mid-March-June, the final performance will most likely fall on the Inti Raymi festival.

If you are interested or know someone who is interested, please share this blog with your network and have them contact me at thequindejourney@gmail.com.

This entry was posted in October 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Grupo Danza Folklorico: Let’s Dance El Sanjuanito in New York City!

  1. quinde90 says:

    Reblogged this on The Quinde Journey and commented:

    I am still recruiting Grupo Danza Pachamama in New York City! If interested, read this blog to find out more information!

    • Johnc693 says:

      An attentiongrabbing dialogue is worth comment. I believe that you must write extra on this subject, it won’t be a taboo topic but typically persons are not enough to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers becgefgbeddc

    • Johnb670 says:

      Sweet website, super layout, very clean and utilise genial. eeeddaaebdfg

Leave a Reply

